Giraffes Can’t Dance By Giles Andreae & Guy Parker-Rees

Giraffes Can’t Dance is a touching tale of Gerald the giraffe, who wants nothing more than to dance. With crooked knees and thin legs, it’s harder for a giraffe than you would think. Gerald is finally able to dance to his own tune when he gets some encouraging words from an unlikely friend.

With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child with dreams of greatness.

Review: Gerald the giraffe doesn’t really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. “Hey, look at clumsy Gerald,” they sneer. “Oh, Gerald, you’re so weird.” Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock ‘n’ roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different “just need a different song,” and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald’s fickle “friends” quickly decide he’s worthy of their attention again.

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall Children’s Book Reading

Mamma Kangaroo reads Red a Crayons Story, A blue crayon mistakenly labeled as “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! Funny, insightful, and colorful, Red: A Crayon’s Story, by Michael Hall, is about being true to your inner self and following your own path despite obstacles that may come your way. Red will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit, and makes a great gift for readers of any age!

The Snail and the Whale Book Reading By Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler

Mamma Kangaroo Reads the amazing book The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson, One tiny snail longs to see the world and hitches a lift on the tail of a whale. Together they go on an amazing journey, past icebergs and volcanoes, sharks and penguins, and the little snail feels so small in the vastness of the world. But when disaster strikes and the whale is beached in a bay, it’s the tiny snail who saves the day. The Snail and the Whale is a delightful tale of adventure and friendship by the award-winning team behind The Gruffalo, Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler.

The Usborne Children’s Bible: How the World Began

Today Mamma Kangaroo reads this beautiful story about how the world began, from the children’s bible illustrated and published by Usborne. Its just such a great story, and we hope you and your child will follow our reading of the whole book.

Mamma Kangaroo is Family friendly fun for all ages. And we release a new video every day. So don’t forget to subscribe.

A collection of best-known and best-loved stories from the Old and New Testaments beautifully retold for young children.
Remaining close to the original text, each story is presented in a way that young listeners and readers will find easy to understand and enjoy.
Attractively illustrated by Linda Edwards.
via YouTube Capture

The Snow Creatures’ Secret (Harold Huxley Rhyming Picture Books) Christmas Story

We read about the super cute Snow Creature this time.

Fourth book in the series, Harold Huxley’s Rhyming Picture Books Harold Huxley is a househog, part of the hedgehog family. Each day his adventures fill him with glee. His amazing journeys, with his best friend, Lamb, don’t always go smoothly, or even to plan. It’s Christmas Eve and the world is white, the friends build a snowman, who gives flight. They chase after him and they soon uncover, the Snow Creatures’ secret that you too can discover.

More books

Father Christmas Needs a Wee! by Nicholas Allan – Santa Clause needs to Pee !

We are reading this super sweet story today.

A funny and festive counting book about Santa really, really needing to go

Father Christmas needs a wee.
He’s been drinking drinks since half past three . . .
At each different house that he visits Father Christmas drinks and eats all the goodies left out for him. Before long he really, really, really needs to pee, so much so that he even forgets to leave the presents behind. But he dashes back, delivers all the gifts, and flies home at high speed to avoid an embarassing accident—but there’s just one tiny problem—he’s lost his house key! Find out what happens and whether Father Christmas ever gets to relieve himself in this fabulously funny counting book!

Peppa Pig: Peppa’s Christmas Wish Story Time

Mamma Kangaroo reads Peppas Christmas Wish

Join Peppa Pig and her brother George as they get ready for Christmas. First there’s Santa’s grotto, where Peppa and George tell Santa what they would like for Christmas. Then Granny Pig has an important festive job for them and Peppa gets to make a very special wish. Will her Christmas wish come true?
A brand-new festive Peppa story, based on the hit TV animation – airing on Five’s Milkshake and Nick Jnr.

The text is a good size, varying at times or in italics/bolder for emphasis. It is a generally happy story as Peppa and her family go on to prepare for and spend Christmas with Granny & Grandpa Pig with just a hint of uncertainty that Santa will know where they are!
There is also a smidgen of sadness, which is quickly reversed as a little omission is rectified in a BIG way!

Aside from the story, the atmospheric illustrations throughout offer lots to talk about with the usual ‘what else can you see’ options as well as basic counting exercises, the weather, colours and the simple but meaningful facial expressions.

Without giving too much away, an example of the text:

“Ho! Ho! Ho!” chuckles Father Christmas.
“I hope you’ve all been good!”

with ‘good’ italicised for emphasis!

The Christmas Party Disney Frozen, Anna & Elsa’s Christmas

It’s Christmas in Arendelle and Anna and Elsa want to make it the best one ever! Find out how the royal sisters from Disney’s award-winning movie Frozen celebrate. Girls ages 4 to 6 will love this Step 2 reader that comes with press-out ornaments featuring pictures of the characters, and festive glitter on the cover! It makes a perfect holiday gift!

Elsa is preparing to host a Christmas party in the castle and the other Frozen characters pitch in to help. This story has all the elements that make Christmas fun, decorating, baking, snowball fights etc. The text is simple and easy for my first grader to read but the story is pretty short because the text is a small paragraph on each of the 24 pages. The illustrations are lovely and look exactly like the beloved Frozen characters. Also included are eight paper cutout ornaments. My 3 year old daughter loves this book and hasn’t put it down since it arrived. A great book for Frozen fans!

More story time

Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers

New cover reissue of this magical story from award-winning international bestselling picture book creator, Oliver Jeffers

There once was a boy… and one day a penguin arrives on his doorstep. The boy decides the penguin must be lost and tries to return him. But no one seems to be missing a penguin. So the boy decides to take the penguin home himself, and they set out in his row boat on a journey to the South Pole.

But when they get there, the boy discovers that maybe home wasn’t what the penguin was looking for after all…

Mamma Kangaroo Story Time

Review
‘An uplifting story…pictures of such spare beauty…suffused with a dreamlike quality.’ Independent Online

‘Oliver Jeffers makes impressive use of space in this affecting story of friendship…illustrations capture feelings of loss and loneliness through the most delicate nuances of facial expression…and body language.’ Julia Eccleshare, The Guardian

‘One of the most perfect stories in recent years featuring… one of the best conclusions in all of children’s fiction. I can’t wait until my nephew is old enough to read this with me, but until then, I’m more than happy to read it to myself. A minor masterpiece and one which will remain with you forever.’ Bury Free Press

‘Jeffers has a unique writing and illustrative style. It’s a wonderful picture book.’ Publishing News

‘My picture book of the year, a joyful exploration of the power of friendship.’ Irish Independent

From the Inside Flap
Once there was a boy and one day he found a penguin at his door…he didn’t know where it came from or who it belonged to. The penguin looked sad and the boy thought it must be lost. So he decided to help it find its way home, even if that meant rowing all the way to the South Pole…

Princess Polly’s Potty Board book / Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom Potty Training

Princess Polly’s Potty: Hilarious potty training from Ladybird Princess Polly’s Potty: Potty Training for Girls is an entertaining picture book from Ladybird that helps parents struggling with potty training for girls aged 18+ months. Clear, informative and fun pictures are aimed at tackling the common anxieties that children may have about using the potty. Each page encourages parents and children to interact with the story by pressing the ‘cheer’ sound effect when the child has interacted correctly in order to eventually motivate their child into using the potty. Even princesses use the potty! Follow Princess Polly on her potty training adventure and press the sound button to cheer her along! This book is perfect for helping girls feel confident and motivated about using the potty. Princess Polly’s Potty was written by Andrea Pinnington and illustrated by Melanie Williamson.

Holly is a young fairy princess who is still learning how to do magic properly, so her spells often don’t work out quite right. Holly lives with her daddy, mummy and little twin sisters in the Little Castle, which stands right in the centre of the Little Kingdom.

This is such a cute book! Our child has yet to reach the potty-going age, but we can just imagine her bursting into giggles every time we press the “Cheer” button! The colourful illustrations and simple storyline makes it a good motivational tool for kids making the transition from diapers to potty.

More stories from Mamma Kangaroo