Giraffes Can’t Dance By Giles Andreae & Guy Parker-Rees

Giraffes Can’t Dance is a touching tale of Gerald the giraffe, who wants nothing more than to dance. With crooked knees and thin legs, it’s harder for a giraffe than you would think. Gerald is finally able to dance to his own tune when he gets some encouraging words from an unlikely friend.

With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child with dreams of greatness.

Review: Gerald the giraffe doesn’t really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. “Hey, look at clumsy Gerald,” they sneer. “Oh, Gerald, you’re so weird.” Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock ‘n’ roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different “just need a different song,” and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald’s fickle “friends” quickly decide he’s worthy of their attention again.

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall Children’s Book Reading

Mamma Kangaroo reads Red a Crayons Story, A blue crayon mistakenly labeled as “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! Funny, insightful, and colorful, Red: A Crayon’s Story, by Michael Hall, is about being true to your inner self and following your own path despite obstacles that may come your way. Red will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit, and makes a great gift for readers of any age!

The Snail and the Whale Book Reading By Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler

Mamma Kangaroo Reads the amazing book The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson, One tiny snail longs to see the world and hitches a lift on the tail of a whale. Together they go on an amazing journey, past icebergs and volcanoes, sharks and penguins, and the little snail feels so small in the vastness of the world. But when disaster strikes and the whale is beached in a bay, it’s the tiny snail who saves the day. The Snail and the Whale is a delightful tale of adventure and friendship by the award-winning team behind The Gruffalo, Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler.

The Usborne Children’s Bible: How the World Began

Today Mamma Kangaroo reads this beautiful story about how the world began, from the children’s bible illustrated and published by Usborne. Its just such a great story, and we hope you and your child will follow our reading of the whole book.

Mamma Kangaroo is Family friendly fun for all ages. And we release a new video every day. So don’t forget to subscribe.

A collection of best-known and best-loved stories from the Old and New Testaments beautifully retold for young children.
Remaining close to the original text, each story is presented in a way that young listeners and readers will find easy to understand and enjoy.
Attractively illustrated by Linda Edwards.
via YouTube Capture

The Snow Creatures’ Secret (Harold Huxley Rhyming Picture Books) Christmas Story

We read about the super cute Snow Creature this time.

Fourth book in the series, Harold Huxley’s Rhyming Picture Books Harold Huxley is a househog, part of the hedgehog family. Each day his adventures fill him with glee. His amazing journeys, with his best friend, Lamb, don’t always go smoothly, or even to plan. It’s Christmas Eve and the world is white, the friends build a snowman, who gives flight. They chase after him and they soon uncover, the Snow Creatures’ secret that you too can discover.

More books

Father Christmas Needs a Wee! by Nicholas Allan – Santa Clause needs to Pee !

We are reading this super sweet story today.

A funny and festive counting book about Santa really, really needing to go

Father Christmas needs a wee.
He’s been drinking drinks since half past three . . .
At each different house that he visits Father Christmas drinks and eats all the goodies left out for him. Before long he really, really, really needs to pee, so much so that he even forgets to leave the presents behind. But he dashes back, delivers all the gifts, and flies home at high speed to avoid an embarassing accident—but there’s just one tiny problem—he’s lost his house key! Find out what happens and whether Father Christmas ever gets to relieve himself in this fabulously funny counting book!

Peppa Pig: Peppa’s Christmas Wish Story Time

Mamma Kangaroo reads Peppas Christmas Wish

Join Peppa Pig and her brother George as they get ready for Christmas. First there’s Santa’s grotto, where Peppa and George tell Santa what they would like for Christmas. Then Granny Pig has an important festive job for them and Peppa gets to make a very special wish. Will her Christmas wish come true?
A brand-new festive Peppa story, based on the hit TV animation – airing on Five’s Milkshake and Nick Jnr.

The text is a good size, varying at times or in italics/bolder for emphasis. It is a generally happy story as Peppa and her family go on to prepare for and spend Christmas with Granny & Grandpa Pig with just a hint of uncertainty that Santa will know where they are!
There is also a smidgen of sadness, which is quickly reversed as a little omission is rectified in a BIG way!

Aside from the story, the atmospheric illustrations throughout offer lots to talk about with the usual ‘what else can you see’ options as well as basic counting exercises, the weather, colours and the simple but meaningful facial expressions.

Without giving too much away, an example of the text:

“Ho! Ho! Ho!” chuckles Father Christmas.
“I hope you’ve all been good!”

with ‘good’ italicised for emphasis!