Giraffes Can’t Dance By Giles Andreae & Guy Parker-Rees

Giraffes Can’t Dance is a touching tale of Gerald the giraffe, who wants nothing more than to dance. With crooked knees and thin legs, it’s harder for a giraffe than you would think. Gerald is finally able to dance to his own tune when he gets some encouraging words from an unlikely friend.

With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child with dreams of greatness.

Review: Gerald the giraffe doesn’t really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. “Hey, look at clumsy Gerald,” they sneer. “Oh, Gerald, you’re so weird.” Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock ‘n’ roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different “just need a different song,” and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald’s fickle “friends” quickly decide he’s worthy of their attention again.

The Snail and the Whale Book Reading By Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler

Mamma Kangaroo Reads the amazing book The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson, One tiny snail longs to see the world and hitches a lift on the tail of a whale. Together they go on an amazing journey, past icebergs and volcanoes, sharks and penguins, and the little snail feels so small in the vastness of the world. But when disaster strikes and the whale is beached in a bay, it’s the tiny snail who saves the day. The Snail and the Whale is a delightful tale of adventure and friendship by the award-winning team behind The Gruffalo, Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler.

The Usborne Children’s Bible: How the World Began

Today Mamma Kangaroo reads this beautiful story about how the world began, from the children’s bible illustrated and published by Usborne. Its just such a great story, and we hope you and your child will follow our reading of the whole book.

Mamma Kangaroo is Family friendly fun for all ages. And we release a new video every day. So don’t forget to subscribe.

A collection of best-known and best-loved stories from the Old and New Testaments beautifully retold for young children.
Remaining close to the original text, each story is presented in a way that young listeners and readers will find easy to understand and enjoy.
Attractively illustrated by Linda Edwards.
via YouTube Capture

Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed (A Five Little Monkeys Story) Eileen Christelow

We read this awesome story today.

«“Whether sublimely happy or ridiculously goofy, Christelow’s expressive monkeys pack a lot of appeal.”—School Library Journal, starred review
“NO MORE MONKEYS JUMPING ON THE BED!” A sure-fire hit at story hour, this rhythmic romp is a counting lesson, too, as the five bouncy bed-jumpers bump their heads and get hauled off to the doctor one by one. Wonderful pencil and watercolor illustrations capture both the glee and the pratfalls of those misbehaving monkeys. (IRA/CBC Children’s Choice)

Since its publication more than twenty years ago, Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed has become a true children’s classic, selling millions of copies. This improved board book edition features all the art from the original hardcover edition at a new larger size.

Peppa Pig: Peppa’s Christmas Wish Story Time

Mamma Kangaroo reads Peppas Christmas Wish

Join Peppa Pig and her brother George as they get ready for Christmas. First there’s Santa’s grotto, where Peppa and George tell Santa what they would like for Christmas. Then Granny Pig has an important festive job for them and Peppa gets to make a very special wish. Will her Christmas wish come true?
A brand-new festive Peppa story, based on the hit TV animation – airing on Five’s Milkshake and Nick Jnr.

The text is a good size, varying at times or in italics/bolder for emphasis. It is a generally happy story as Peppa and her family go on to prepare for and spend Christmas with Granny & Grandpa Pig with just a hint of uncertainty that Santa will know where they are!
There is also a smidgen of sadness, which is quickly reversed as a little omission is rectified in a BIG way!

Aside from the story, the atmospheric illustrations throughout offer lots to talk about with the usual ‘what else can you see’ options as well as basic counting exercises, the weather, colours and the simple but meaningful facial expressions.

Without giving too much away, an example of the text:

“Ho! Ho! Ho!” chuckles Father Christmas.
“I hope you’ve all been good!”

with ‘good’ italicised for emphasis!

The Christmas Party Disney Frozen, Anna & Elsa’s Christmas

It’s Christmas in Arendelle and Anna and Elsa want to make it the best one ever! Find out how the royal sisters from Disney’s award-winning movie Frozen celebrate. Girls ages 4 to 6 will love this Step 2 reader that comes with press-out ornaments featuring pictures of the characters, and festive glitter on the cover! It makes a perfect holiday gift!

Elsa is preparing to host a Christmas party in the castle and the other Frozen characters pitch in to help. This story has all the elements that make Christmas fun, decorating, baking, snowball fights etc. The text is simple and easy for my first grader to read but the story is pretty short because the text is a small paragraph on each of the 24 pages. The illustrations are lovely and look exactly like the beloved Frozen characters. Also included are eight paper cutout ornaments. My 3 year old daughter loves this book and hasn’t put it down since it arrived. A great book for Frozen fans!

More story time

What the Ladybird Heard by Julia Donaldson – Ladybug

Come ready this super cute book with Mamma Kangaroo and Baby Kangaroo.

More Children Books.

“Oink!” said the cats …With all the MOOing and HISSing and BAAAing and CLUCKing, the farmyard is full of noise. But when Hefty Hugh and Lanky Len hatch a plot to steal the fine prize cow, it’s the quietest animal of all who saves the day!Spot the glittery ladybird on every page of this wonderful rhyming tale from the creators of the bestselling THE PRINCESS AND THE WIZARD and SHARING A SHELL.

Review
“Flamboyant colors, zany perspectives and a neatly circular tale lead, with satisfying inevitability, to a happy outcome for all but the thieves.” -“Washington”” Post “”The appealing and brightly colored collage illustrations, rhyming text, and assorted animal sounds make it a natural for individual or group readalouds.”–“Booklist “”An excellent read-aloud or lap book, it’s full of slapstick action, animal noises, and repeated phrases that invite participation. Donaldson’s rhymed verse is both rhythmic and skillfully executed.” –“Publishers Weekly,” STARRED review “””Low on menace and high on clever silliness, this highly readable rhyming tale will have young listeners participating in the delivery of these unexpected variations on animal sounds and examining the last scene.” –“Kirkus Reviews””” “The playful rhyming text flows without stumbling and offers the opportunity to demonstrate one’s finest animal sounds. Monk’s illustrations incorporate paint and –This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author
Julia Donaldson is the UK’s most successful picture book author; her titles include the acknowledged modern classic, THE GRUFFALO (978-0-333-71093-7), illustrated by Axel Scheffler and the young fiction series PRINCESS MIRROR-BELLE, also illustrated by Lydia Monks. Julia’s brilliant events for children at schools, libraries and literary festivals are always in demand. Julia and her husband Malcolm divide their time between Edinburgh and West SussexLydia Monks is one of the most original picture book artists working today. Her distinctive use of colour and collage has won her critical acclaim and several awards, including the Smarties Prize.